Welcome!

welcome

For quite some time now, I have had the desire to start this blog, but for various and sundry reasons and commitments, I haven’t done it.  Well, I guess as of today, I am finally taking that plunge and posting something here.  And if you have found yourself reading this, for some odd reason, you have at least an inkling of a desire to read what I have to say.

I have several goals or purposes I would like to see for this blog.  The first would be to have a place where I can write about what I am learning about God.  Many people shy away from the word theology thinking that it is only for their pastor or elders or the “super-religious.”  And I have found that especially among women this tends to be the case.  But theology literally means the study of God.  I can’t imagine being a Christian who does not want to learn more about the God I serve.  I hope I can be a resource for others, but especially women, who want to learn more than just mere sentiments when it comes to God.

As a second goal or purpose, I want this blog to be a place where I can lovingly engage those in the LGBT community and especially help Christians who experience same-sex attraction (SSA).  This is a subject that is near and dear to me, because I am a Christian who has experienced and struggled with SSA.  I want this to be a safe place to discuss this issue, but under the framework of the traditional Biblical understanding of sex and marriage (i.e., marriage is between a man and a woman and sexual relations are meant for marriage).

Finally, I hope this blog can be a place where I can discuss the ordinary and every day things that happen as I live out my life and identity in Christ, endeavoring to walk in all good conscience before Him.  I might talk about some work of fiction I am reading, some new recipe I want to try, the new Hollywood blockbuster I saw last weekend, or some new beer I ordered.

So, feel welcome to drop by and read things as I post them.  I would welcome any comments, thoughts, and to dialog with any of you if you find that a topic I have written about piques your interest!

One thought on “Welcome!

  1. Wanda Newton says:

    What a beautiful, loving, thought provoking beginning Jamie! I know I’ll learn as I read more of your ongoing walk. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

